Election Management

Article 24 of the Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan provided that an independent Election Commission shall be responsible for the preparation, maintenance, and periodical updating of electoral rolls, the election schedule, and the supervision, direction, control and conduct of elections to Parliament and Local Governments, as well as holding of National Referendums, in a free and fair manner.

The Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB) has been created in accordance with the said provision. Furthermore, it is also governed by the Election Act of 2008 and the ECB Service Rules and Regulations.

The ECB consists of a Chief Election Commission and two Election Commissioners, whose terms of office is five years  or until they attain 65 years of age.

As the electoral management body, it is the duty of the ECB to prepare the electoral rolls, as well as supervise and control the elections for parliament and local governments. The holding of national referendums and registration of political parties also fall under the authority of the ECB. They also provide the public information through education and programmes regarding electoral matters to promote public awareness. They also give information and advice to the parliament and government regarding referendum and other electoral matters. Facilitating media coverage during election is also among its duties. The ECB also author rules in line with the Electoral Act.

All other matters concerning election management is under the jurisdiction of the ECB, including introduction of new technology to aid in the electoral process, conducting research, and canceling and rescheduling elections.



The Election Commission (Article 24). The Constitution of the Kingdom of Bhutan

The Election Commission (Chapter 3). Election Act of the Kingdom of Bhutan 2008

Google Analytics : LINK