Election Management

Excerpt from Election Commission of Nepal’s website

Election Commission of Nepal is a constitutional Election Management Body in Nepal. Constitution of Nepal has made arrangements about the Election Commission in Section 24, article 245 to 247. The constitution has embraced the competitive multiparty democratic system, adult franchise and periodic elections as fundamental guiding principles of democracy.

Depending on the constitutional provisions, the Commission has the responsibility to conduct the elections of different tires – federal, provincial and local bodies – as per the stipulated electoral systems.

The Election Commission has the responsibility to conduct, supervise, direct and control the elections of the President, the Vice President, Members of Federal Parliament, Provincial Assemblies and Local Bodies. The Election Commission is also responsible for preparing the voters’ list for the purpose of election. The Commission can also hold referendum on subject of national importance as per the Constitution and Federal laws.

There are five Commissioners including a Chief Election Commissioner. The Chief Election Commissioner acts as the Chairperson of the Election Commission. The Commissioners are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council and their terms is of six years from the date of appointment. However, if they get the age of 65 years they retire earlier.

Nepalese citizen possessing qualifications such as holding a Bachelor’s Degree, not being a member of any political party immediately before the appointment, attained the age of forty five, possessing high moral character is eligible to be appointed as the Chief Election Commissioner or an Election Commissioner.

Structurally, Election Commission has its Secretariat led by the Secretary of the Government of Nepal. The Secretariat comprises five divisions and 12 sections in the headquarters, and there are five Regional Offices and 70 District Election Offices across the country. There are 733 permanent officials in the Election Commission. The Secretariat implements the policy as decided by the Commission.

Overview. (n.d.). Retrieved from Election Commission, Nepal: http://www.election.gov.np/election/en/overview-28.html


Google Analytics : LINK