Electoral System

The electoral system of Nepal is a mixed system where 165 of the 275 constituents are elected through First Past The Post System (FPTP) and 110 by a Proportional Representation System (PR) through closed list in the parliamentary elections[1]. This is done in-order to allow for a more inclusive representation of women and various marginalized groups in the country. No local elections have been held since 1997. The absence of elected representatives on a local level has created a power vacuum at the grassroots self-governance point[2].


[1]Constitution of Nepal, Ar. 84 (2015).
[2]Tamang, L. R. (2015, September 22). Nepal’s New Constitution. Retrieved December 18, 2015,
from http://www.idea.int/asia_pacific/nepal/nepals-new-constitution.cfm

Google Analytics : LINK