Electoral System

South Korea holds elections for the following governing organs:

  • the President of the State (every five years);
  • the members of the National Assembly (every four years);
  • the members of all local public assemblies (every four years).

For elections, South Korea uses the following electoral methods:

  • Presidential elections: plurality voting. Under plurality voting, people vote in a single round for their favored candidate and the candidate who obtains the largest vote tally is elected to office.
  • Parliamentary elections: hybrid electoral system. 253 MPs are elected in first-past-the-post single-member constituencies (plurality voting), and 47 MPs are elected from a nationwide multi-member constituency according to a closed-list proportional representation system. Political parties must include 50% of women in their PR lists. Voters cast two ballots each.
  • Local elections: hybrid electoral system (plurality voting and proportional representation).



Google Analytics : LINK