Political Parties

Given the key role of the presidency in the overall functioning of the government, the term “ruling party” denotes which political party occupies the Presidential Office. The Kuomintang held the presidency in Taiwan for more than five decades before the Democratic Progressive Party won the 2000 and 2004 Presidential elections. The KMT returned to power in 2008 and 2012. The DPP won the 2016 Presidential election, marking the third transition of power since the country’s democratization.

In the January 2016 legislative elections, the DPP gained 60 percent of the seats in the Legislature, while the KMT secured 31 percent. Other major parties that have a presence in the Legislature include the New Power Party and the People First Party.

Source: https://www.taiwan.gov.tw/content_4.php

Google Analytics : LINK